

Minutes

2nd Business Meeting 2nd European Mineralogical Conference, Rimini, Italy, 2016

Time:Wednesday, September 14th, 2016, 12:30 – 13:30Location:Palacongressi di Rimini, Tempio 1, ground floor

1. OPENING, WELCOME AND APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

The President opens the meeting and welcomes the participants. Participants agree on the agenda presented.

2. ROLL CALL OF THE DELEGATES

The National Representatives present the names of voting delegates to the Secretary and receive in turn the number of ballots in accord with the voting power of the respective national society.

3. REPORT OF THE AUDITING COMMITTEE (IMA CONSTITUTION, ART. 5C)

Ulf Hålenius and Roberta Oberti served as auditing committee. The books were found to be in order.

4. VOTE ON THE NEW COUNCIL MEMBERS

The Secretary reports that no additional nominations have been received, so that there is one candidate for each office to be filled. The President suggests that the vote on the entire slate be carried out by a single ballot. The delegates agree unanimously. Catherine McCammon and Mark Welch were elected by a majority vote of 42 ballots.

Two candidates, Patrick Cordier (France) and Anhuai Lu (China) applied for the position of the 1st Vice President; Patrick Cordier was elected by a majority vote of 42 ballots.

The IMA President welcomed the McCammon, Mark Welch and Patrick Cordier as new Council Members.

5. VOTE ON NEW MEMBERS OF THE IMA MEDAL COMMITTEE

Jane Gilotti was re-elected as the Chair of the Medal Committee; by hand sign the delegates unanimously agreed on the re-election of Jane Gillotti.

6. VOTE ON HOST - IMA MEETING 2022

The Council received a bid document from Lyon (France) to host the 23rd General Meeting of the IMA in 2022. Razvan Caracas, potential Congress President, gave an overview on the organization beyond the bid, the congress venue and mentioned that the meeting in 2022 is scheduled to honor and commemorate the famous mineralogist René-Just Haüy. By hand sign the delegates unanimously elected Lyon to host 23rd General Meeting of the IMA.

7. VOTE ON THE SLATES OF OFFICERS FOR COMMISSIONS

Nigel Cook (Chairman), Biswajit Mishra (Vice-Chairman) and Hassan Helmy (Secretary) were introduced as new officers for the Commission on Ore Mineralogy (COM). The officers of the remaining Commissions stay in office.

8. **OTHER BUSINESS**

The president thanked the all participants for fruitful discussions, thanked the outgouing Council Members for their work and closed the meeting at 13:30.

Bochum, October 6, 2016

tours-Pet Scheste Earpy Unionider

(Secretary)

(President)