

Minutes

2nd Business Meeting

22nd General Meeting of the International Mineralogical Association, Melbourne. Australia

Time: Wednesday, August, 15, 2018, 12:30 – 13:30

Location: Melbourne Conference Center Plenary Three

OPENING, WELCOME AND APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA
 The President opens the meeting and welcomes the participants. Participants agree on the agenda presented.

2. ROLL CALL OF THE DELEGATES

The National Representatives present the names of voting delegates to the Secretary and receive in turn the number of ballots in accord with the voting power of the respective national society.

3. REPORT OF THE AUDITING COMMITTEE (IMA CONSTITUTION, ART. 5C) Ulf Hålenius and Andrew Christy served as auditing committee. The transactions itemised in the report agree with financial movements in the statements and IMA finances appear to be in good order.

They stated that it would be of great assistance for audit if the following documents were to be prepared:

- 1. A spreadsheet itemizing individual transactions in detail, and their purpose.
- 2. A list of outstanding revenue and liabilities, to assist in future planning.
- 3. As an attachment to the report, a list of countries which have and have not paid their annual dues at the time of the report, and the amounts outstanding.

4. VOTE ON NEW COUNCIL MEMBERS

The Secretary reports that no additional nominations have been received, so that there is one candidate for each office to be filled. The President suggests that the vote on the entire slate be carried out by a single ballot. The delegates agree unanimously. The following candidates were elected by a majority vote: 1st Vice President: Anhuai Lu (China, election 2018-2020); Secretary: Hans-Peter Schertl (Germany, re-election 2018-2022); Communication Officer: Anton Chakhmouradian (Canada, re-election 2018-2022); 2nd Vice President: Razvan Caracas (France, election 2018—022); Councillors: Marco Pasero (Italy, re-election 2018-2022); Sergey Smirnov (Russia, election 2018-2022). The IMA President welcomed the new Council Members.

5. VOTE ON SLATES OF OFFICERS FOR COMMISSIONS
The Commission Officers positions are occupied as follows:

Chair Vice-Chair Secretary CAM: M.A.T.M. Broekmanns E. Ciftci J. Elsen CGM: L Groat W. Hofmeister J. Shigley COM: N. Cook B. Mishra H. Helmy CPM: D. Neuville P. Commodi T. Inque

CNMNC: Chair: U. Hålenius (up to 30.10.2018); superseded by R. Miyawaki

Vice-Chairs: F. Hatert, M. Pasero

Secretary: S. Mills

COM: (in case COM agrees Chair: M. Rumsay

With re-election/election) Cice-Chair: NN

Secretary: Kim Tait

6. OTHER BUSINESS

According to a new proposal, an IMA working group on Asbestos was installed "To clarify issues associated with asbestos and other respirable minerals posing a potential health risk".

Chair: M. Gunter (USA)

Vice-Chairs: A.F. Gualtieri, R. Emilia (Italy)

Secretary: B. Bandli (USA)

Further points on this topic of the agenda referred to ethical challenges where the IMA might be relevant; interested colleagues were suggested to contact the new President Patrick Cordier. Finally two International Conferences were introduced and advertised where the IMA (23rd General Meeting of the IMA in Lyon, France) and the Commission on Applied Mineralogy (14th International Congress for Applied Mineralogy; ICAM 2019) are involved.

The President thanked all participants for constructive discussions, thanked the outgoing Council Members for their work and closed the meeting at 13:15.

Bochum, September 6, 2018

(Secretary)

Jams-Pet Schelk

(President)